Ás a’ Chamhanaich webinar course with author/artist Angus MacLeod

Jan 4, 2022 | Author News, Events, Gàidhlig, Graphic Novels

Explore Gaelic announces Ás a’ Chamhanaich webinars with Gaelic artist/author Angus MacLeod starting Wednesday, January 12, 2022!

For years, Angus has written and illustrated the stories he wanted to tell – doing it for his own creative satisfaction, with no thought of publishing. (Also with no thought of aiming them toward an audience of learners!) In his new book Ás a’ Chamhanaich, he uses his full scope of Gaelic, and his brush-and-ink graphic skills, to present 12 of his stories in a graphic novel format.

Ás a’ Chamhanaich features “Creatures magical and human, worlds strange and familiar, fantasy and a touch of horror. The debut graphic novel from Cape Breton author-artist Angus MacLeod is a collection of a dozen tales inspired by old stories, history, and ancient beliefs of the Gaels and the author’s imagination. Illustrated in black-and-white.”

Angus will offer a series of 10 webinars on the stories in his graphic novel which will focus on the following subjects:

1 – The meanings and translations (as closely as possible) of the Gaelic text
2 – The inspirations and influences that lead to the creation of the story
3 – The historic references within the story (if any) and the connections to creatures or fantasy concepts derived from older Gaelic sources (if any)
4 – A question period, although questions can be asked in the chat and will be answered at any time throughout

COST: $150 CAD

DATES: Wednesdays, Jan 12 – March 16, 2022 (ten weekly sessions)

TIME: 10am Alaska | 11am Pacific | 12noon Mountain | 1pm Central | 2pm Eastern | 3pm Atlantic | 7pm Scotland

LEVEL: The webinars will be mostly in English, with some Gaelic. Any level is welcome to register if you feel that you can get something from it. Please see the sample pages below to get an idea of the level of Gaelic in the book.

PLEASE NOTE: Webinar registration fee does not include the book. Participants should buy a copy of Ás a’ Chamhanaich separately if you do not have one already. See the options for ordering a copy of the book.

HOW TO REGISTER: Email Bradan Press through our contact form and we will forward your email to Nickie Polson of Explore Gaelic.

This webinar course is organized by Explore Gaelic. Bradan Press is not affiliated with Explore Gaelic and is not involved in this course. Bradan Press does highly recommend this course!

Ás a' Chamhanaich, page 33

Ás a’ Chamhanaich, page 33

 

Ás a' Chamhanaich, page 97

Ás a’ Chamhanaich, page 97

 

 

Ás a' Chamhanaich, page 145

Ás a’ Chamhanaich, page 145

 

Ás a' Chamhanaich, a Gaelic graphic novel by Angus MacLeod

Archives

Categories